Rain Delay at 2013 U.S. Open: Call Carl Spackler

Torrential downpours today delayed the U.S. Open at Merion. Doubling down on the heavy rainfall of last week has made conditions swampy, causing separation of the sole and uppers of even the costliest golf shoes. The umbrella stands in the clubhouse cannot take the stress.

IMG_3727 groundhog2

My limited relationship with golf, or for that matter—golfers, consists of my the retinal aversion to plaid and my extensive knowledge of the lines in Caddyshack.  I just have this vision of Carl Spackler standing on the green saying to the Bishop, “I’d keep playing. I don’t think the heavy stuff’s gonna come down for quite awhile.”

The critters I saw the other day must have been a sign. That’s probably why I’m Alright stayed stuck in my head all day too.

…”And that’s all she wrote.”

~This post is dedicated to Kathleen Schreier

What are your thoughts?

