A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Opera

Sometimes I miss Freddie Mercury’s voice, but if I listen closely to the echoes of the past, I still hear him crooning:

You’re the first one
When things turn out bad
You know I’ll never be lonely
You’re my only one
And I love the things
I really love the things that you do
You’re my best friend

Rolling Stone pegged Queen’s A Night at the Opera as #231 of the 500 Greatest Albums of All Time. Personally, I would have placed this album higher on the list for its musical originality. However, this is about the album cover. The 1975 single album in pristine condition features a fold-out cover complete with lyrics. And in this case…less is more.

Queen front a

Queen inside left

Queen inside right

Queen back

Yup, I can just hear him…

Is this the real life?
Is this just fantasy?
Caught in a landslide,
No escape from reality.
Open your eyes,
Look up to the skies and see,
I’m just a poor boy, I need no sympathy
Because I’m easy come, easy go,
Little high, little low
Any way the wind blows doesn’t really matter to me, to me

3 thoughts on “A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Opera

What are your thoughts?

