Frenglisp: A New Way of Talking or Same Tree Different Day

October 2012
October 2012

After careful review When I was hunting for something else entirely, I noticed that my blog posts, even the titles, contain a smattering of other languages.

Before Hurricane Sandy
Before Hurricane Sandy

Despite the apparent haphazardness of my posts, it may come as some surprise that I spend considerable time reorganizing before I publish most posts.

After Hurricane Sandy
After Hurricane Sandy

Even so, it never occurred to me (until I was searching for a specific, past tidbit) that I possess the bizarre habit of interjecting non-English phrases into my posts which appear to materialize out of nowhere.

January 15, 2013
January 15, 2013

From time to time, without warning, an occasional French phrase appears mid-sentence.

March 10, 2013
March 10, 2013 in fog

That would be okay, but there are also snippets of Spanish thrown in as well. So I decided to coin a new term.

I call it: “Frenglisp,” a combination of French-English-Spanish that handily allows for those with a speech impediment (see lisp).

March 19, 2013
March 19, 2013

It is a catch-all. Maybe its not new.

March 22, 2013 on a clear day
March 22, 2013 on a clear day

Possibly its just me. Fun fact: I turns out that I talk that way too.

March 24, 2013
March 24, 2013 in snow

Who knew? Funny the things you discover along the way, huh?

April 5, 2013 first buds
April 5, 2013 first buds

Any hoooo, last year I had an idea to take a picture of a tree in the yard and then see what it looked like as the year progressed.

April 13, 2013
April 13, 2013

Same tree: different day. Today’s post is the result of that effort.

I took the first picture in the fall of 2012, just when the leaves were about to turn.

April 19, 2013
April 19, 2013

I planned to take one picture each day. That would have been cool if I were diligent I actually remembered to do it.

It turns out my memory works in fits and spurts.

Maybe, you didn’t even realize (until I pointed it out) that these pictures show the same tree on different days. If that’s the case, don’t beat yourself up about it.

April 23, 2013
April 23, 2013

It took me a while to realize I should shoot the photo either portrait or landscape every time, or that I should stand in the same spot and hold the lens at a particular angle. I catch on eventually.

May 4, 2013
May 4, 2013

If you blog, I challenge you to go back and look at some of your old posts to see what you discover.

Then again, you may find out…like the tree, it is just the same thing: different day.

What are your thoughts?

