My Superhero Power

I have been thinking a lot about motivation lately. What is it that drives this insane plane I’ve been on for most of my adult life?

After much contemplation…well, not really. After about 30 seconds of thought, the kind that you have when there’s a sudden flicker of inspiration, just before any actual deep thought or concentration sets in…that’s when I realized that for me…it’s POWER.

Power is one motivating factor for me, that or its opposite: fear of powerlessness.

And so it was that the conversation I was having inside my head led me to decide I had better choose a superpower, just in case I am the one chosen to avert the impending Zombie Apocalypse.  Hey, it’s improbable, but there are a few people here of late, who point to some (questionable) circumstantial evidence that would seem to indicate impending doom.

And, let’s not forget, I was a Girl Scout.  Be prepared.  So, it’s all set.

The super power I want is laser ray eyes. You are probably wondering why that as opposed to say…Spidey wrists, or Incredible Hulk-esque strength. In the end, I think laser ray eyes would serve me better than some of the other superpowers.

I need a tree trimmed in the back yard. Zap. Done.

Stick Chick has a hankering for tin-foil wrapped, fresh, grilled asparagus with a touch of herbs and a smidge of soy sauce? Zing. Turns the foil into charcoal et voila!

Cut me off in traffic? Zip! Melt the tires on the offender’s vehicle.

Politicians can’t balance a budget, but still accept a paycheck? Whoosh…oops, he he…my bad.

Zombies approach? Yeah, I got this.

2 thoughts on “My Superhero Power”

What are your thoughts?

