Movie Mystery and Intrigue

A fellow blogger had the idea to post his list of favorite movies, so it got me to thinking…what makes them great? It’s the writing– the lines that make them great. Consider these. 49 are from some of my favorite flicks, and one is something my mom said this morning that should be the opening line in one. I’ll even provide a few hints.

“0.2… Fat, drunk and stupid is no way to go through life, son.”

“I had a car waiting.”

“It’s merely a flesh wound.”

“So you have to fall back on superior intelligence and superior firepower.”

“Face it, girls, I’m older and I have more insurance.”

“And up goes Her Royal Highness… Now exhale slowly…And down goes Her Royal Highness…”

“It’s a business lie, it’s not the same as a life lie.”

“Come on in, and try not to ruin everything by being you.”

“Wouldn’t this be a great world if insecurity and desperation made us more attractive? If “needy” were a turn-on?”

“Any of you guys call me Francis, and I’ll kill you.”

“You are certainly the most distinguished group of highway scofflaws and degenerates ever gathered together in one place.”

“Childhood is what you spend the rest of your life trying to overcome.”

“I’ll get all the sleep I need when I’m dead.”

“I always get weighed naked. It makes you feel better, unless you’re also looking in a mirror.”

“You talkin’ to me?”

“What we’ve got here is failure to communicate.”

Courtesy John McNally 54.com

“I love the smell of napalm in the morning.”

“Mama always said life was like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.”

“He won’t listen to anybody. He’s been very crazy all summer. Since June he’s been trying to kill me.”

“We call it Voight-Kampff for short.”

“I had no idea that broccoli could be so intriguing.”

“You soaked his underwear in meat? That is so wrong. Funny—but wrong.”

“What do you mean he don’t eat no meat? Oh, that’s okay. I make lamb.”

“Dude, is my face okay? I think you melted it off.”

“Are you gonna eat your tots?”

Photo Credit: thecia.com.au

“I never pictured God with a fat gut and corset singing “My Way” at Caesar’s Palace.”

“Our speedometer has melted and as a result it’s very hard to see with any degree of accuracy exactly how fast we were going.”

“It’s amazing the clarity that comes with psychotic jealousy.”

“I couldn’t love you any more if you were my own son. But the fact of the matter is, you’re… well you’re a putz.”

“You’ve got a great future in front of you in Retail Food marketing, and I just hate to see you throw it all away by going psycho on us.”

“I’m just gonna go ahead and nip this thing in the bud. ‘Cuz you know, they say pregnancy often leads to, you know… an infant.”

“We’re not really violent people. This is our first gun.”

“I stopped trusting her after she stole my Pop Rocks in the third grade.”

“What we’re dealing with here is a complete lack of respect for the law.”

“Love murderer!”

“Let me out there, sir, I have no problem exposing myself.”

“Please get out of my Van Halen t-shirt before you jinx the band and they break up.”

“A gun rack… a gun rack. I don’t even own a gun, let alone many guns that would necessitate an entire rack.”

“I told you not to be stupid, you moron.”

“Kindly do not attempt to cloud the issue with facts.”

“Now this is the thought that wakes me up in the middle of the night. That when I get older, these kids are going to take care of me.”

“Mrs. Yakamoto, I have your hair. I’m going to slip it under the door.”

“Me? I’m scared of everything. I’m scared of what I saw, I’m scared of what I did, of who I am, and most of all I’m scared of walking out of this room and never feeling the rest of my whole life the way I feel when I’m with you.”

“Thank you for the cookies. I look forward to tossing them.”

“Dames are put on this earth to weaken us, drain our energy, laugh at us when they see us naked.”

“You can’t see this on a marketing report.”

“Sanka… you dead?”

“You’re different and special in your own way. Live it. Own it.”

“I must be crazy to be in a loony bin like this.”

“Heeere’s Johnny!”

One thought on “Movie Mystery and Intrigue”

What are your thoughts?

