Easter

Much of the late 70s and early 80s album cover art focused solely on a closeup of the artist.  Few were as riveting to me as that of Patti Smith’s Easter album.  Her rebellious poetry caught my attention.

In a single frame, the artistry of the photograph bares the intensity of her soul, a task made to look simple.

Few of my friends thought Smith was worth listening to at the time of the album’s release, aside perhaps from her radio hit Because the Night (a Springsteen creation.) I count myself fortunate to have had excellent seats to see her perform locally.  On stage, her fearless bravado provided the ultimate example of punk artistry.

Look what I found…

I cheered her induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and appreciate her memoir, Just Kids as an exhibit of raw honesty.

What are your thoughts?

