50: A Figment of My Imagination

A possible explanation for my behavior…okay, maybe not

Missing Album Cover Art

While researching for a previous post, I realized how much I miss album cover art. Opening the Eagles album to find yet another interior cover brought this point to mind.

Eagle Cover and Interior

Today album art is so much less impressive as a CD cover for sheer lack of size,  and less so as an icon to click for a digital download. Soon to come…my favorite 50 album covers.  Suggestions?  I’ll dig through my collection and see what I unearth.

4 comments on “Missing Album Cover Art

  1. Daughter #1
    December 27, 2011

    Totally a lost art! How much more beneficial it would have been to study album covers in art history than the insanities of starving artists who did nothing but paint the same lifeless ugly white chick over and over again in that same lifeless seated pose with hands crossed on her lap…. Ugh!!!

    • Kimberly
      December 28, 2011

      I’d sign up for that class and hire a U-Haul to bring mine along for closer study.

  2. Chris Sheridan
    December 27, 2011

    I seriously miss album cover art. It was literally part of the package of going out and buying an LP. Some suggestions off the top of my head for album cover art: “Sgt Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band.” (Beatles – of course!) “Wish You Were Here” (Pink Floyd) “Disraeli Gears” (Cream) “American Beauty” (Grateful Dead)

    BTW, thanks for liking my blog post ” I Love Pets – But Maybe Not The Naked Mole Rats…” :-)

  3. Kimberly
    December 28, 2011

    Oh how I miss Music Scene and Tower Records. And I agree, it was part of the package, along with liner notes, info about the artist, photos and printed lyrics.

What are your thoughts?

Information

This entry was posted on December 27, 2011 by in 50 and Art, Album Cover Art and tagged , , , , .

Ads Are Not My Fault

Ad placement does not indicate my endorsement. unless of course, it's something REALLY cool.

  • 3,918 People Stunned by the Implications

My Peeps

Enter your email address to follow 50: A Figment of My Imagination, and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 286 other followers

Imagine the Possibilities

Copyright

©Stick Chick and 50Figment, 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kimberly and 50Figment with appropriate and specific link back to the original content.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 286 other followers

